Skip to main content

Ashley High Media Center: Videos

On This Page : Video Resources

Links to videos to watch in class or at home.  Some are from public television series, organizations, and colleges and universities. Don't miss author John Green's Crash Course series and the Khan Academy series of tutorials for math, science and social studies topics.

Searching Destiny for Ashley Collection Videos

   Click on the Destiny logo, select Ashley High.  Change material type to Video and enter your search term. Only video results will occur.

         

NHCS Instructional Media Planning and Permission Form (DVD/VHS)

Showing of videos in the classroom must correspond to county policies.  Please look over the form posted below.

Khan Academy

                       

Click on the Subject tab on the Khan Academy homepage to get a selection of instructional videos to help you understand concepts for math, science, economics & finance, history, the art history,music and test prep help.

John Green's Crash Course Videos

ShmoopTube : Subject-Related Videos

ShmoopTube : short videos explaining concepts for math, English, literature, social studies, science and test prep. Complete subject list at bottom of their page.

Documentaries

Science Documentaries

 

                  

PBS collection of videos provided by NC Wiseowl.  Includes videos from American Experience, Art21, Frontline, NOVA, Ken Burns, Masterpiece and others.

UniversityVideos.org

   UniversityVideos.org

Tutorial posted below.

Online Video Collections

The Science360 Video Library immerses visitors in the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math. We gather the latest science videos provided by scientists, colleges and universities, science and engineering centers, the National Science Foundation and more.

Within TED-Ed’s growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed website (ed.ted.com).

Mobento provides a free to use library of the world’s best educational videos. We scour the public web and work with the world’s best teachers and institutions to bring you a one stop shop for video learning.

Mobento School Accounts for Teachers and Students

MITVideo

The MIT Video website includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more. Contains more than 12,000 videos and has 100-plus channels ranging from arts to OpenCourseWare and beyond.

Free video lectures on a variety of subjects, anatomy-web design from colleges and universities. Scroll down and search by subject or college.

New Hanover County Public Library : Movies

eFilms at NHCPL Include Films on Demand and IndieFlix that could be used for homework assignments. NC LIVE Video Collection may be used in classroom setting.