LibGuides: Suicide Prevention: Home

Resources In The Library

Mental Health Information for Teens by Karen Bellenir
Call Number: eBook : FollettShelf
ISBN: 9780780811607
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
The Truth about Suicide by Donna Holland Barnes; Robert N. Golden; Fred Peterson
Call Number: eBook : FollettShelf
ISBN: 1438128630
The Silent Cry by Joan Esherick
Call Number: 616.85 Esh
ISBN: 1590848519
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Frequently Asked Questions about Suicide by Sandra Giddens
Call Number: 616.85 Gid
ISBN: 9781404218116
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Suicide by Ron Salomon; Pat Levitt (Foreword by)
Call Number: 616.85 SAL
ISBN: 0791090078
Publication Date: 2007-10-01

Use our Databases to locate journal articles on this topic.

Academic Search

CINAHL

ERIC

Health Source Nursing Academic

MedLine Plus

TeensHealth

Aftershock by David Cox; Candy Neely Arrington
Call Number: 362.28 COX
ISBN: 0805426221
Publication Date: 2003-10-01

After A Suicide Resource Directory : Coping with grief, trauma and distress
"After a Suicide" is a portal linking people who are grieving after a death by suicide to an online directory of resources and information to help them cope with their loss. The directory also lists items for people who want to offer support and assistance to the suicide bereaved.

Look for the following resources in GVRL. Also do a search to pull up additional articles.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Gale Editor (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414498768
Publication Date: 2013-06-14
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Galè
ISBN: 9781414490120
Publication Date: 2012-06-13
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health
ISBN: 9781414486413
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313392047
Publication Date: 2010-12-01

Located on Ashley Campus or call 910 452-6320

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

SAVE
Suicide Awareness Voices of Education's goal is to increase knowledge about depression, other brain illnesses and the need for assessment and treatment as suicide prevention.
It Gets Better
For those who are bullied, sometimes it feels like it will never get better. This site is especially for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender teens, but the message is clear for everyone-- IT GETS BETTER.
SAMHSA : Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA provides suicide prevention information and other helpful resources to behavioral health professionals, the general public, and people at risk.