Sophomore Research: Finding Sources

• FBI Uniform Crime Reports

  Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
• New York Criminal Justice Statistics

  Contains data on crime and victimization, arrests, dispositions, law enforcement personnel, and more.
• Bureau of Justice Statistics

• AMECO Annual Macro-Economic Database

  Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).
• CBOE Volatility Index® (VIX®)

  Current and historical data for the VIX, a barometer for measuring investor sentiment and market volatility.
• DataMarket

  Provides access to thousands of data sets holding hundreds of millions of facts and figures from a wide range of public and private data providers including the United Nations, the World Bank, Eurostat and the Economist Intelligence Unit.
• EconData

  Contains several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media
• Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union
• FDIC Data & Statistics

  Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions
• Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data

  Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.
• International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data

  Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.
• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

  Contains useful economic datasets for download
• Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics

  Stats for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
• Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)

  Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage
• The Foreign Assistance Dashboard

  USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.
• U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

  Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
• U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data

  Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics. 
• U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

  Futures and options markets data
• U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)

  Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world. Search by country or agency.
• World Investment Report (UNCTAD)

  World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment
• globalEDGE DIBS

  A Database of International Business Statistics with over 5000 variables from over 200 countries. Data available from mid-1990s to present. (Free registration is required to access data sets).

• Childstats.gov

  Data included in FedStats but " this website concentrates on "...statistics and reports on children and families."
• KidsCount Data Center

  Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.
• NAEP State Profiles

  State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4 and 8.
• Nation's Report Card

  The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.
• National Clearinghouse for Educational Facilities

  The School Construction Data and Statistics section includes current, forecast, and historical data about U.S. school construction.
• New York State Education Department

  Contains data and statistics collected from New York schools and learning support resources.
• New York State Report Cards

  The New York State Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, career and technical education, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State.
• NYC Department of Education

  Research and Data on NYC Schools.
• United Nations Educational, Scientific and and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data Centre

  Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

United States

• Election Administration and Voting Survey and Data Sets

  Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.
• American National Election Studies (ANES)

  Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.
• Historical Election Returns Datasets, 1788-1990

  Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990. Most returns are at the county level.
• Harvard Election Data Archive

  A space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.
• Library of Congress U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide

  A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.
• Federal Election Commission Data Catalog

  Downloadable campaign finance information

   

  International 

   

  Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)

  Contains approximately 1100 elections from 70+ countries at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. Includes votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available. Available in Stata, SPSS, and raw data formats. Dates are variable, but generally 1945+

  Global Elections Database

  Build data sets on national and subnational elections around the world 1940s-2010s. Accessible in multiple formats: spreadsheets, tables and GIS maps.

  CEPPS Election Guide

  Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.

• BP Reports & Sustainability Data

  BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.
• Energy Sector Management Assistance Program (World Bank)

  Data on environmentally sustainable energy programs in developing countries.
• International Energy Agency (IEA)

  Energy statistics by country
• Joint Organisations Data Initiative (JODI)

  Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries.
• NCES Common Core of Data

  A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides annual and national statistics for all public elementary and secondary schools, and school districts across the U.S. Data can be located under "Quick Facts", "Data", or by searching for a specific school or school district under "School/District Locator." Fiscal and Nonfiscal reports, and working papers can be located under "Publications."
• Nuclear Energy Agency

  Contains both experimental and evaluated nuclear data including nuclear reaction ((the properties of interacting nuclei, e.g. cross sections) and nuclear structure (the properties of single nuclei) data.
• Petroleum Economist

  A journal covering the global energy market (1998-present).
• U.S. Energy Information Administration Data

  Company level data on the supply and disposition of natural gas in the United States, Electric power data collected by surveys, international energy statistics, energy country profiles for 217 countries, state and territory energy profiles for the U.S., financial data collected from major energy producers, short-term and historical energy outlook data & projections, and real energy prices.
• UN Energy Statistics Database

  Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.
• UN Energy Statistics Yearbook
• World Resources Institute

  Provides data sets on energy, climate, forests, water, & sustainability.

• Aquastat (FAO)

  US Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system
• Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)

  CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
• Earth Policy Institute Data Center

  Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.
• NOAA's National Climatic Data Center

  Provides datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocian, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).
• UN Water Statistics

  United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.
• UNEPLive

  An interactive site from the UN Environment Programme, with data, maps, reports and more.
• United Nations Climate Change Portal

  Reports on climate change
• World Resources Institute Datasets

  Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.

   

  US Environmental Protection Agency : Envirofacts

• Geographic Names Information System

  A component of the National Geospatial Program (NGP). The official repository of domestic geographic names data, as standardized by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The GNIS contains information about physical and cultural geographic features of all types in the United States, associated areas, and Antarctica, current and historical, but not including roads and highways. Data available as downloadable text files.
• The National Map

  A component of the National Geospatial Program (NGP). A repository of topographical data, including orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
• EarthChem.org

  Geochemical data from a variety of sources worldwide. Advanced search interface allows users to define many parameters to find appropriate information.
• GeoGratis

  Geospatial information from the Canadian federal government, including topographic maps and GIS data.
• GeoNames

  A database of placenames, under a CC-BY license. Founded by Marc Wick.
• NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive

  The NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive serves as the permanent archive for NASA space science mission data.
• National Centers for Environmental Information

  NCEI provides over 25 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data.
• Polar Data Catalogue

  A primarily Canadian archive of free RADARSAT imagery as well as Arctic, Antarctic, and other cryospheric data sets covering a range of disciplines, from natural sciences and policy to health and social sciences.
• Public Geodata Repository

  Data from the Open Source Geospatial Foundation (OSGeo).
• ShareGeo Open

  ShareGeo Open is a spatial data repository that promotes data sharing between creators and users of spatial data. Geospatial data of all kinds is available.
• NASA Planetary Data System (PDS) Datasets

  The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
• NASA Earth Data

  Data for Earth Sciences

• Global Health Observatory (GHO)

  The World Health Organization's (WHO) gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 member states.
• CDC National Survey Collections

  Public health statistics
• Health.Data.gov

  Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government
• HIV/AIDS Database

  Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.
• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

  Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)

• International Labour Organization

  International labor statistics, standards, key indicators of the labor market, labor force surveys, safety, work conditions, child labor, and labor legislation.
• UNCTAD Stat

  Information on international trade and economic development trends, markets, and labor force.
• United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

  Provides international labor force and wage information and other economic statistics (1990-present).
• OECD Employment database

  Contains international policies and data on employment, health, families and children, pension systems, international migration and other social policies and data. Downloadable files in Excel, CSV, PC-axis, or XML.
• ICTWSS Database

  Database covers four key elements of modern political economies in advanced capitalist societies: Institutional Characteristics of Trade Unions, Wage Setting, State Intervention and Social Pacts in 49 countries between1960 and 2010
• Social protection systems (MISSOC)

  Provides detailed, comparative tables for social protection systems for 31 countries. Areas covered include financing, healthcare, sickness, maternity, invalidity, old-age, survivors, employment injuries and occupational diseases, family, unemployment, guaranteed minimum resources and long-term care.
• Social Security Online

  Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Public use data downloadable as TXT or SAS zip files.
• AFRO Barometer (International)
• US Bureau of Labor Statistics

• Fundamentals of Polling (Roper Center)

  Describes the basic princi­ples of polling and sampling in a question ­and­ answer format.
• ABC News Polls (U.S.)
• Ipsos Polls (U.S. & Canada)
• Associated Press Poll Data (U.S.)
• CBS News Poll Database (U.S.)
• FOX News Polls (U.S.)
• L.A. Times Polls (U.S.)
• New York Times Polls (U.S.)
• NPR/Kaiser/Kennedy School Polls (U.S.)
• Washington Post Polls (U.S.)
• National Opinion Research Center (U.S.)
• AFRO Barometer (International)
• Canadian Opinion Research Archive
• Japanese Data Archive JPOLL (International)
• LAPOP-Latin American Public Opinion Project (International)
• Latinobarometro (International)
• Mansfield Asian Opinion Poll Database (International)
• Pew Research Data (International)
• World Public Opinion.org (International)
• World Values Survey (International)
• Gallup Poll

• 2010 Census Downloadable Files

  2010 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings.
• U.S. Census - American Factfinder

  American FactFinder provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.
• American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)

  Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
• Child Welfare

  These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
• Current Population Survey (CPS)

  Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States
• Data.gov

  Data.gov is the Federal governments one-stop shop for data of all kinds, including GIS and scientific data.
• Disability Statistics

  Major statistical data sources on disability
• Enron e-mail corpus

  Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse.
• FedStats

  Central source for up-to-date statistics from U.S. government; includes some reports analyzing statistics.

• Data.gov Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act Data

  Data drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database reported by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
• databaseSports.com

  Provides statistical, historical and other data for college and professional players, leagues and teams.
• Equity in Athletics Data Analysis Cutting Tool

  Provide customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data.
• NCAA.com

  Rankings and championship historical data by school or sport.
• Official Olympic Games results
• Reference.com

  Professional sports data for major and minor league baseball, NBA, NFL, NHL as well as college football, college basketball and olympic sports.
• Tableau Software's Sports Data Sites

  Links to sports data on American Football, Baseball, Basketball, Cricket, Cycling, Fencing, Golf, Hockey, Olympics, Poker, Racing, Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball.
• NBA Stats

  Historical stats and data dating back to the NBA's first season in 1946.

• Airline Data Project

  Provides statistical and financial data for the airline industry
• International Transport Forum

  Contains data relevant to a range of transport policy issues including investment & maintenance, transport statistics, emissions, road taxation and safety.
• The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)

  Part of the division of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation. The BTS compiles, analyzes, and publishes statistical information on U.S. transportation systems. Data downloadable as CSV file (1995-present)