Guides for Reading Primary Sources Provided by NCPedia
America in the 1930s An in-depth investigation of the 1930s, includes primary documents and media.
American Revolution Massachusetts Historical Society
Archiving Early America Your window into America's Founding years.
Chronicling America - Digitized US newspaper articles (1836-1922)
Civil War Primary Documents : diaries, journals, letters, cartoons, photographs, art, poetry, literature and music.
Digital Library on American Slavery Various independent online collections focused on race and slavery in the American South.
Documenting the American South (UNC-Chapel Hill)
Eyewitness to History - history through the eyes of those who lived it.
Gilder-Lehrman Institute of American History US Primary sources and other resources
Library of Congress : Primary Source Sets Includes Teacher's Guide for each unit.
Source Documents in US History - HistoryCentral
The Massachusetts Historical Society -The coming of the American Revolution 1774-1776.
The National Archives - digital vault collection of photographs.
The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire (Cornell Univ.) Original documents, interviews with witnesses and survivors, photographs and illustrations, and tips on using primary sources.
Umbra Search African American history from U.S. archives, libraries and museums
World War I Propaganda Posters : NCPedia listing.
Anchor a North Carolina History Online Resource - search the site for NC primary sources
The American Folklife Center Online collections.
American Memory "Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience".
Authentic History Center (Popular Culture)
Awesome Stories pictures, slide-shows, videos, audio-clips, documents and other primary sources.
Calisphere Over a million images, texts, recordings. Special collections. University of California.
Library of Congress - Digital Collections
Library of Congress - Manuscript Room: digital images and searchable text.
Library of Congress : Primary Source Sets Primary Source information on a wide variety of topics from the Library of Congress. Includes Teacher's Guide for each unit.
Minnesota Historical Society Digital Archive of Hats
National Jukebox - Library of Congress collection of recordings.
New York Public Library Digital Collections "Over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections, including historical maps, vintage posters, photographs, and more."
Smithsonian Collections - online
TalkingHistory - Aural History Productions
Abraham Lincoln Papers (US President 1861-1865) The bulk of the papers consist of letters from Lincoln's Springfield, Illinois days; national and regional political figures and reformers; and local people and organizations writing to their president.
Dwight Eisenhower Presidential Library, Museum and Boyhood Home
JFK Library
John Adams: Adams Family Papers
Theodore Roosevelt Papers : includes more than a million Roosevelt documents : letters, cartoons, photos, films, scrapbooks, diaries and newspaper articles.
Presidential Libraries and Museums Brings together in one place the documents and artifacts of a President and his
The American Presidency Project Major publications of the U.S. Office of the President, including: public papers of the President, inaugural addresses, executive orders, radio addresses, party platforms, videos of debates, and popularity polling data. Developed by two political science professors at the University of California Santa Barbara.
Alexander Hamilton Papers (ca. 1757-1804), first treasury secretary of the United States, consist of his personal and public correspondence, drafts of his writings (although not his Federalist essays), and correspondence among members of the Hamilton and Schuyler families.
Avalon Project (Yale Univ.) Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy - 1492 to present.
Charters of Freedom - Original U.S. documents
Shaping of America Primary Sources
War in the Persian Gulf - Primary Sources by 
American Social Reform Movements by 
Migrant Mother by See the Primary Sources resource list in the library catalog for more titles.
(The Bill of Rights Institute)
Asia for Educators - Primary Source Documents with Questions Excerpts of primary source documents. Site is geared toward educators but is an excellent starting place for students seeking primary source materials related to Asian history.
COLLAGE - The London Picture Archive
David Runsey Map Collection Rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
Euratlas Historical Maps: History of Europe Maps, photos, and more.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History A rich collection of artifacts from BYU.
Eyewitness to History - history through the eyes of those who lived it.
International World History Project - essays, documents, maps and music.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project This site links to online historic documents grouped into virtual sourcebooks on Ancient, Medieval, and Modern periods, with other sourcebooks focused on Byzantine studies, Africa, East Asia, Global, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, Lesbian & Gay, Science, and Women.
Smithsonian Collections - online
World Digital Library - Collected items from libraries and museums across the world. Background info provided on items that can be read or listened to in multiple languages.
Women's Speeches from Around the World
Shakespeare Documented : the largest and most authoritative collection of primary-source materials documenting the life of William Shakespeare (1564-1616).
