Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keyword Research Terms
Wind, currents, waves, tides, ocean, hydropower, alternative energy.
This portal will allow you to search through several Department of Energy technical report and bibliographic collections with a single search. It has combined Information Bridge, Green Energy, the Energy Citations database and other DOE tools. Content dates back to the Manhattan project.
NTIS (National Technology Information Service Database)
Index to technical reports from government, corporate and university research agencies (1964-Present). Contact the engineering librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org) for help locating the full text of NTIS reports.
After your initial search, click full text documents only and it will weed out abstract only entries.
Friendly Floatees : Ocean Currents
Dryad is an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. Dryad enables scientists to validate published findings, explore new analysis methodologies, repurpose data for research questions unanticipated by the original authors, and perform synthetic studies. Dryad is governed by a consortium of journals that collaboratively promote data archiving and ensure the sustainability of the repository.
As of Jul 26, 2012, Dryad contains 1850 data packages and 4828 data files, associated with articles in 143 journals.
Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) is the foundation of new innovative environmental science through a distributed framework and sustainable cyberinfrastructure that meets the needs of science and society for open, persistent, robust, and secure access to well-described and easily discovered Earth observational data. Supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation (Grant #OCI-0830944) as one of the initial DataNets, DataONE will ensure the preservation, access, use and reuse of multi-scale, multi-discipline, and multi-national science data via three principle cyberinfrastucture elements and a broad education and outreach program.
DataONE mission: Enable new science and knowledge creation through universal access to data about life on earth and the environment that sustains it.
DataONE vision: DataONE will be commonly used by researchers, educators, and the public to better understand and conserve life on earth and the environment that sustains it.
This list is a working document, initiated via a collaboration between the British Library, BioMed Central and the Digital Curation Centre, that aims to capture the growing number of repositories for research data. It is provided for information purposes only: DataCite provides no endorsements as to the quality or suitability of the repositories listed. We encourage community participation in developing this resource.
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
The National Oceanographic Data Center archives and provides public access to global oceanographic and coastal data, products, and information.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society
Ocean Engineering Society (OES) focuses on numerous ocean engineering topics (underwater communications, policy, air / space remote ocean sensing, instrumentation, technology, environment, etc.). They also have a Student Activities page.
Science and Engineering Societies
Marine Technology Society
The Marine Technology Society was incorporated in June 1963 to give members of academia, government and industry a common forum for the exchange of information and ideas. Today, MTS is a growing organization, boasting a membership of businesses, institutions, individual professionals and students who are ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers and educators.
The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers
The mission of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers is to advance the art, science and practice of naval architecture, marine engineering, ocean engineering and other marine-related professions.