Located In the Reference Section - Call numbers REF 800
It is helpful to know your author's writing time period, nationality, and death date before you start searching
CLC - Contemporary Literary Criticism : authors of various nationalities who have died after 1960 or are still living.
CMLC - Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism : authors from classical antiquity through 14th century
LC - Literary Criticism : death dates between 1400 - 1800, all nationalities. Excludes William Shakespeare.
NCLC - Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism : authors of all nationalities who died between 1800-1899.
TCLC - Twentieth Century Literary Criticism : authors of various nationalities who died between 1900-1959.
DLB - Dictionary of Literary Biography : biographical and critical information, each volume covers specific topic or time period.
PC - Poetry Criticism : authors of various nationalities, biographical and critical information.
SSC - Short Story Criticism : critiques authors of all nationalities and time periods.
Other series:
Black Literature Criticism
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Drama for Students
Epics for Students
Literary Movements for Students
Novels for Students
Poetry for Students
Short Stories for Students
World Authors series
Check Destiny for Literary Criticism Series
Bloom's Literary Themes
Modern Critical Interpretations
The Greenhaven Press Literary Companion
Bloom's Major Novelists
Bloom's Major Poets
Gale Study Guides to Great Literature
Twayne's Masterworks
Twayne's English Authors
Twayne's United States Authors
Twayne's World Authors
Social Issues in Literature
Understanding Great Literature
For Poetry-Related Criticism resources see: Literary Analysis of American Poetry Libguide
Check NoveList Plus for tone, writing style and themes for your novel.
Click on on GVRL logo to get to the eBooks.
Black Literature Criticism
Critical Overview of Poetry Series
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
Literature and Its Times
Literary Movements for Students
Literary Themes for Students
Drama, Poetry and Short Stories for Students Series
Shakespeare for Students
New Hanover County Public Library has several helpful databases that will relate to your literary criticism research.
Located in Literature & The Arts - check under Literature and Writers Resources.
Gale Literary Resources : Primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries.
Literature Resource Center: Includes scholarly journals, literary magazines, and critical essays. Content covers all genres, disciplines, time periods and countries.
Scribner Writers Online : Provides criticism on American and British writers and Latin American and European writers.
Twayne's Authors Online : Series of literary criticism, on the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.
Located in Biography, History & Geneology
Biography in Context : Delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography.