Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog for a Book about Your Person
Print and eBook Resources
Contemporary Musicians by
Call Number: GVRL eBooks and Print version REF 920 Con
Publication Date: 2013-10-04
Encyclopedia of World Biography Supplement by
Call Number: GVRL ebooks & Print version REF 920.003 ENC
Publication Date: 2004-09-20
Encyclopedia of Artists by
Call Number: REF 709.2 Enc
Publication Date: 2001-01-04
Great Athletes by
Call Number: REF 796.092 GRE
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Authors and Artists for Young Adults by
Call Number: REF 809.892 AUT
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
Contemporary Black Biography by
Call Number: REF 920.009 CON
Publication Date: 2002-07-25
Some Additional Titles for Biographical Information
REF 509.2 BIO : Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists
REF 920 ENC : Encyclopedia of American War Heroes
REF 920 Wom : Women in World History
REF 920.009 BIO : Biographical Encyclopedia of 20th Century World Leaders
REF 920.02 HIS : Historic World Leaders
Search GVRL eBooks for Information About Your Person
Awesome Library : Biographies
Search by subject area or individual's name.
BBC - Historic Figures
British & World (including US)
This is the site for the A&E television show Biography.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Use the Search Box at top of page for best results.
Nobel Prize Organization
Information on the winners of the Peace, Literature, Medicine, Science and Economic winners.
S9.com : Biographical Dictionary
Short biographical write ups on more than 25,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world.
Sweet Search : Biographies
Organized by categories : ex. athletes, spiritual leaders, politicians
Women's Biographies : Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Biographies of women who contributed to our culture in different ways -- writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights leaders, artists, and entertainers.
Search all of the databases at one time, using the WiseOwl search box.
New Hanover County Public Library
Use your school ID number to login.