Election Process: Home

Ballotpedia : The Encyclopedia of American Politics

Ballotpedia is the online encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. 

                   Ballotpedia : North Carolina

 North Carolina elections portal for 2016. Scroll down for information about what's on the ballot, election dates, voting, and more. 

Quinnipiac University Poll   Surveys residents in Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and nationwide about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern.

Pew Research   It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

RealClearPolitics   Aggregates polling data and calculates an average.

Gallup     Conducts regular public opinion polls.

FiveThirtyEight    Makes electoral college projections based on poll results aggregated from HuffPost Pollster, RealClearPolitics, polling firms and news reports.

HuffPost Pollster  Tracks thousands of public polls to give you the latest data on elections, political opinions and more.​

Commission on Presidential Debates  Includes present and historical debate information and transcripts. Also provides educational materials.

• American Presidency Project (APP)

  Non-profit and non-partisan, includes over 118,000 documents.
• America Votes: Presidential Campaign Memorabilia

  From the Duke University Special Collections Library.
• Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections

  Contains current and historical data about presidential, gubernatorial, and senatorial elections.
• LOC's Government, Law & Politics Digital Collections

  The Library of Congress has excellent collections of digitized primary source materials.
• Voting America: United States Politics, 1840 - 2008

  From the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond. "Voting America examines long-term patterns in presidential election politics in the United States from the 1840s to today as well as some patterns in recent congressional election politics. The project offers a wide spectrum of animated and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in elections over the past 168 years. You can also find expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history."

Presidential Elections (History Central)

The Presidents  (White House biographies also includes Vice-Presidents and First Ladies)

Look for information on the election process, political parties, campaign finance, electoral college, voting rights and more in the following databases.

Databases for Research Link

    Democrat Party (est. 1888) Official Website

    Republican Party (est. 1854) Official Website

            Libertarian Party (est. 1971) Official Website

      Green Party (est. 2001) Official Website

U.S. Electoral College

FAQs, About the Electors, 2016 Election, Historical Results and more.

What is the Electoral College

 Federal Election Commission

Created in 1975, the duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.

U.S. Senate Elections   Contains historical information on senate elections from the time they were elected by popular vote. This is also where you can find information on Senators from the past to the present. (US Government)

House of Representatives Election Information  Provides information the the House of respresentative elections. Here you may see who is your representative, their political party, voting record, and who is up for reelection. (US Government)