Skip to main content

Research Process: Why Use Library Databases?

Guidelines for a successful research experience. Adapted from the Copley Library Guide,

Why You Should Use Databases


Databases are sometimes called the "deep web" or "invisible web" because their information is usually only accessible through paid subscriptions using passwords and isn't usually found (indexed) by search engines such as Google.

Database records are organized using a variety of indexes such as author and subject but are keyword searchable as well. 

Databases are either subject specific such as World History in Context or content specific such as the newspaper and magazine database through EBSCO. 

Databases contain information that has been checked for the ABC's of authority & accuracy, bias, and content & currency. You can trust the information you find in databases, not like on the web or through Google searches. Sometimes it's accurate, but many times it isn't. 

Why Use Library Databases? (Univ. of Michigan)

While the narrator refers to "impressing your instructor" as a reason to use databases, understand that the reason they will be impressed is because you are using reliable, academic sources for academic work.

Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals

What's the difference between scholarly and popular periodicals? How does the information in each differ? Watch this video and find out.  The narrator refers to college students but this information is also applicable to high school research.      (Carnegie Vincent Library)

Need Some Help?

Need some help with your research?  Stop by and see Mrs. Absi or send me an email.


Ashley's Databases

The databases that we have access to are located on the Databases for Research page of our website.  Check with the librarian for the passwords that will be needed.