Skip to main content

ESL Resources: Home

Podcasts : Listen to Learn English

ESL Podcast provides English at a slower speed and uses everyday phrases and expressions. They explain what these expressions mean and how to use them.

Voice of America (VOA) Learning English  podcasts use a core vocabulary and simple sentences to help you improve your English while you listen to short features on American life, world news, and developments in science.

ESL Aloud  A collection of podcasts on a variety of topics, including grammar and conversation. Transcripts of the podcasts are available so students can follow along.

More Listening

This site includes everyday conversations by theme or topic with exercises.

English Media Lab

             

Exercises for All English Learners- Online Grammar Exercises, Vocabulary VideosPronunciation ExercisesInteractive Quizzes for Beginners, Intermediate & Advanced Level English Learners.- Math Exercises for Children.  (French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese)

ESL Websites

Below are some sites that are specifically for ESL students. Most will help you practice your English writing and grammar.

  • Anki   Anki is a program that allows you to create flashcards. This is an excellent tool if you want to expand your vocabulary. Just add a word and its definition on a flashcard and the program will test your knowledge. Are you ready to learn? You need to create an account.
  • ESL/EFL Teaching/Learning Resources  : for Reading.  St. Michael's College, Colchester, VT. 

  • Reading Comprehension for ESL Students This website provides interesting stories accompanied by pictures and audio. Listen and read along to practice your spelling and listening skills. Test how much you understood by taking the quiz that follows the story.

  • Activities for ESL Students Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)

  • ManyThings.org Includes quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities for ESL students.

  • ESL BLUES Pre-intermediate to high-intermediate level English quizzes and exercises

  • UsingEnglish.com Provides a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics

  • EnglishForEveryone.org   Resource for printable English worksheets.

  • ESLgold English study and learning materials.

  • Englishpage.com Free online English lessons & ESL / EFL resources

  • Lanternfish  ESL Teacher resources

  • everythingESL.net   Lesson plans, resources

  • ESL Tower     Free printables and interactives for teachers and students.

          Writing Centers

The Writing Center at UNC-Chapel Hill  ESL Resources

Purdue University Online Writing Lab : for ESL Instructors and Students

Grammar

Dave's ESL Cafe   Great resources for learning grammar. There are also links to fun quizzes and student forums under the "Stuff for Students" section.

English Grammar Lessons   This site features lots of grammar lessons and exercises.

Dictionaries and Translators

                   

                Dictionaries and Translators
Reverso  Free online translation in French, Spanish, Italian, German, Russian, Portuguese, Hebrew, Japanese, English.

howjsay.com   A free online Dictionary of Pronunciation

Forvo.com      The Pronunciation Dictionary

WordReference.com     Free bilingual dictionaries.

                                  Idioms
An idiom is an expression or a figure of speech whose meaning is different from the literal definition of the word or words.

UsingEnglish.com

The Idiom Connection

Idiom Site

More Vocabulary Builders

American Slang  Definitions, sample sentences, etymology, and synonyms.

ESL Lab- Vocabulary Building

Activities designed to build communication skills, with a listening and discussion component.
 
Language Guide
Sound-integrated resources for 13 different languages (with a choice of 21 native language interfaces). Particularly helpful for vocabulary building and word pronunciation.

 

Repeat After Us.com   an award-winning online library with the best collection of copyright-free English texts and scripted recordings. The free audio clips provide an excellent resource for students and literature lovers of all ages.

Vocabulary.co.il  a very fun, interactive site with a variety of games students can play to work on vocabulary.

Websites to Help You Improve Your Pronunciation & Listening

BBC Learning English Learn what is happening in the world and learn English at the same time.

Duolingo for Schools

Duolingo is a language learning tool. Duolingo uses a mixture of activities; students listen, speak, read, and type in a simple interface as they work through words and phrases.  You can change the site's language.  Teachers need to create a classroom on the site.  Click on the logo to go to the site.

Web Resources

The following websites may be helpful for learning American English by listening to and/or reading various types of literature and conversations. 

American Folklore    Practice reading English with these ESL short stories from American folklore, retold by S.E. Schlosser. Some short stories have an ESL listening component.

American Rhetoric  Read and/or listen to speeches from history, the movies and world leaders.

365 ESL Short Stories

Hundreds of stories and conversations for ESL learners to practice listening and speaking

Meet Your LIbrarian

Joann Absi
Contact:
Wilmington, NC 28412
joann.absi@nhcs.net
910 790-2360 ext 242
Website / Blog Page

Locating Fiction Books

                               

Looking for books written in foreign languages? The library has a collection of titles located in the following Dewey numbers.

463 Spanish
468 French
492.7 Arabic
495.7 Korean

Unite for Literacy

 

Unite for Literacy  : Online library contains more than 120 diverse childrens books with 26 language narrations

Perfect for emergent readers everywhere. 

Provides unique audio support to families who are learning to speak English or foreign languages.

International Children's Digital Library

  International Children's Digital Library

Outstanding children's stories from around the world in 59 different languages.

 

SweetSearch in Spanish

           

               Hoy en la Historia.

Library Research Sources

 

Articles can be listened to and translated into different languages. See librarian for password.

                            

Articles can be listened to and translated into different languages. See librarian for password.

Proporciona acceso a peridicos y revistas especializadas de lengua espanola y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre America Latina.

Books Should Be Free : Loyal Books

   Books Should Be Free 

This website offers free access to public domain ebooks. You may download ebooks for iPhone, Android, Kindle & mp3 players.
Hint: Listen to the audio while reading books to help you improve your pronunciation skills.