Skip to main content

eBooks and Audiobooks: Free eBook Collections Online

Free Audiobooks

          Thumbnail AudioBooks For Free

  • Books Should Be Free
  • Free Classic Audiobooks
  • Internet Archive
  • LibriVox
  • Podio Books
  • Project Gutenberg
  • The Clasic Tales Podcast
  • Voice in the Dark

Sources : Readings on eBooks

E-Book Reading Jumps; Print Book Reading Declines (Pew Research Center)

How Teachers Are Using Technology at Home and in Their Classrooms (National Writing Project, CollegeBoard, and Pew Research Center)

Free eBooks

Free eBooks for Teens and Young Adults (Gizmo's Freeware) This is a listing of 66 sites that legally offer free ebooks for teens and young adults, for reading.

Project Gutenberg

Over 38,000 free ebooks for Kindle, Android, iPad, Iphone. Search for materials in the book catalog and read the FAQ for answers about using with various.
 
Manybooks.net
The ManyBooks.net website offers strictly classic literature.
 
University of Adelaide
Ebooks, available through Creative Commons, search by author or title. Books can be read via any web browser or epub device. Read FAQ section to learn more.
 
All books published by the National Academies Press (NAP) are available online in .PDF format. NAP publishes for the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

Google Books Thousands of full-text books in the public domain and partially-searchable newer books.

Directory of Open Access Books  Provides access to over 854 peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.

International Children's Digital Library  Children's books in English and other languages.

Kobo eBooks  Kobo provides free eBooks and also has eBooks for sale. Instructions for how to access their free content is provided on the front page.

Open Library  Searches Internet Archive eBooks as well as some eBooks from public libraries. Borrow an eBook from the growing collection of mainly 20th Century titles available now in PDF or ePub formats.

National Academies Press   Over 4,000 titles on science, engineering, and medicine. Most content is in PDF form and available for free download by the chapter or full text.

HathiTrust Digital Library   Over 5 million book titles from partner institutions in digital form. Items are under varying copyright restrictions but many are in the public domain. Downloading and printing not available, but most of the collections allow for full-text online reading.

Wikibooks  Over 2,500 open content textbooks that anyone can edit.

Bartleby.com   E-books in literature, reference, and verse.

Biodiversity Heritage Library   Over 50,000 titles on natural history and botany digitized to preserve the literature of biodiversity.

RAND Reports   Research reports on public policy issues including: health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment.

Film Studies for Free

Making of America (University of Michigan)   Over 10,000 volumes of primary sources for American social history. Collection focuses on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

UC Press eBooks Collection, 1982-2004   Topics include art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Over 500 titles available to the public. To view public titles, use "Browse Public Titles" option.

Internet Archive   The Internet Archive Text archive. Published books overlap with Open Library but additional texts can be accessed through IA.

Digital Culture Books   Open imprint of the University of Michigan Press focusing on innovative work in new media studies and digital humanities.

Sync Audiobooks

                       Sync Audiobooks

Two new titles each week.  Text or email to site and you will get a reminder each Thursday when the titles become available.

Gizmo's Freeware

 

Free eBooks and Audiobooks to Read Online or Download  446 sites that offer free ebooks.