Skip to main content

British Romantic Poets: Home

Search Terms

John Keats, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Lord Byron, William Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, William Blake, Robert Burns, Thomas Moore, Walter Scott, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Mary Robinson, Hannah More, romanticism, English romanticism, romantic poets.

English Poetry - NHC Public Library Database

English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.

Use Your Digital Access Card or NHC Public Library Card to access this resource.

Using Print Literary Criticism Reference Sources

Tips: Use the index of the last volume to locate your author, each book's index covers all of the volumes that come before it.  Each index will also cover all of the other criticism sets, so become familiar with the abbreviations that are used for each set.

The sets that will be of main interest to you for this unit will be:

NCLC - Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism : includes authors of vaious nationalities who died between 1800-1899.  Consists of biographical as well as critical information.

PC - Poetry Criticism : includes authors of various nationalities who made a significant contribution as a poet.  Consists of biographical as well as critical information.

You may also find some relevant information in some of the other sets such as Poetry for Students.

Gale Series Titles

    Located In the Reference Section - Call numbers REF 800

 

CLC - Contemporary Literary Criticism
CMLC - Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
DLB - Dictionary of Literary Biography
LC - Literary Criticism 1400- 1800
NCLC - Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
PC - Poetry Criticism
SSC - Short Story Criticism
TCLC - Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

Other series: 

Drama for Students

Epics for Students

Literary Movements for Students

Novels for Students

Poetry for Students
Short Stories for Students

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Click on on GVRL logo to get to the eBooks.

 

Critical Overview of Poetry Series

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature

Literature and Its Times

Literary Movements for Students

Literary Themes for Students

Poetry and Short Stories for Students Series

Shakespeare for Students

British Romantic Poets - Print Resources and eBooks

These titles are just a sample.  There are many more located in the nonfiction, reference and ebook collections that will be helpful to you.  Use Destiny OPAC to locate titles.  For ebooks look in FollettShelf, Ebsco eBooks and GVRL collections.

Meet Your LIbrarian

Joann Absi's picture
Joann Absi
Contact:
Wilmington, NC 28412
joann.absi@nhcs.net
910 790-2360 ext 242
Website / Blog Page

Searching Destiny for Literary Criticism

     

     Destiny OPAC

Critical texts can be found via the online catalog by doing an advanced search with the author's last name and the word criticism - searching for the author as subject (last name, first name): 

Subject :  Hemingway, Ernest 

Subject :  criticism

One of the results you will get is the following :


Ernest Hemingway's A farewell to arms /edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom.  (Series: Bloom's notes)
Call #: 813 Ern 

                                      

More Search Options

A second option is to use the advanced search in the library catalog and search by era, literature, and criticism as a "subject" as noted below:

Subject :  english literature

Subject :  18th century

Subject :  criticism

 

The third option is to search the title of the work as "keyword" and criticism as a "subject." This will pick up the title of the work in an anthology of critical essays.

Keyword :  1984

Subject :  criticism