Skip to main content

Ashley High Media Center: Library Orientation

Dewey Decimal System

Nonfiction books in school and public libraries are organized using the Dewey Decimal System. 

Dewey Decimal System Chart

The 000s (Computer science, information & general works)

000- Computer science, knowledge & systems
010- Bibliographies
020- Library & information sciences
030- Encyclopedias & books of facts
040- [Unassigned]
050- Magazines, journals & serials
060- Associations, organizations & museums
070- News media, journalism & publishing
080- Quotations
090- Manuscripts & rare books

The 100s (Philosophy and psychology)

100- Philosophy
110- Metaphysics
120- Epistemology
130- Parapsychology & occultism
140- Philosophical schools of thought
150- Psychology
160- Logic
170- Ethics
180- Ancient, medieval & eastern philosophy
190- Modern western philosophy

The 200s (Religion)

200- Religion
210- Philosophy & theory of religion
220- The Bible
230- Christianity & Christian theology
240- Christian practice & observance
250- Christian pastoral practice & religious orders
260- Christian organization, social work & worship
270- History of Christianity
280- Christian denominations
290- Other religions

The 300s (Social sciences)

300 Social sciences, sociology & anthropology
310 Statistics
320 Political science
330 Economics
340 Law
350 Public administration & military science
360 Social problems & social services
370 Education
380 Commerce, communications & transportation
390 Customs, etiquette & folklore

The 400s (Language)

400 Language
410 Linguistics
420 English & Old English languages
430 German & related languages
440 French & related languages
450 Italian, Romanian & related languages
460 Spanish & Portuguese languages
470 Latin & Italic languages
480 Classical & modern Greek languages
490 Other languages

The 500s (Science)

500 Science
510 Mathematics
520 Astronomy
530 Physics
540 Chemistry
550 Earth sciences & geology
560 Fossils & prehistoric life
570 Life sciences; biology
580 Plants (Botany)
590 Animals (Zoology)

The 600s (Technology)

600 Technology
610 Medicine & health
620 Engineering
630 Agriculture
640 Home & family management
650 Management & public relations
660 Chemical engineering
670 Manufacturing
680 Manufacture for specific uses
690 Building & construction

The 700s (Arts & recreation)

700 Arts
710 Landscaping & area planning
720 Architecture
730 Sculpture, ceramics & metalwork
740 Drawing & decorative arts
750 Painting
760 Graphic arts
770 Photography & computer art
780 Music
790 Sports, games & entertainment

The 800s (Literature)

800 Literature, rhetoric & criticism
810 American literature in English
820 English & Old English literatures
830 German & related literatures
840 French & related literatures
850 Italian, Romanian & related literatures
860 Spanish & Portuguese literatures
870 Latin & Italic literatures
880 Classical & modern Greek literatures
890 Other literatures

The 900s (History & geography)

900 History
910 Geography & travel
920 Biography & genealogy
930 History of ancient world (to ca. 499)
940 History of Europe
950 History of Asia
960 History of Africa
970 History of North America
980 History of South America
990 History of other areas

Loading

Using Webpath Express with FollettShelf

Use Webpath Express to quickly find reliable websites for your research needs.

Log into Destiny, with your Powerschool login.

For Website only results : Click the Webpath Express tab on left and search for your topic.

To Locate books, ebooks and websites for your topic : Click the Library Search tab.

Research Process Libguide

 

Make use of the Research Process Libguide to get more help in using the library's resources, coming up with a research topic, taking notes, avoiding plagiarism, creating citations, and evaluating websites.

Our Catalog

 We use Follett Destiny to search for print and ebooks in our library collection.

Icons Used in Destiny

 Print Books

 FollettShelf eBooks

 GVRL eBooks

 Video/DVD

 

Fiction Books Are Organized by Genre

         

 

Check the location line to see which Genre section the book is shelved in.

Call Number Prefixes

We use several different call number prefixes in our library.  Be aware of this when looking for books on the shelves.

REF  : Reference

PRO  : Professional

REC  : Recorded Books/Playaways

PIC  : Picture Book

PBK  : Paperbacks

NC  :  North Carolina

FIC  : Fiction

Understanding the Dewey Decimal System

How To Use The Gale Virtual Reference Library

Why Should You Use Databases When Searching for Information?

Use Databases to access reliable, scholarly information for many topics. Databases are NOT websites, we just ACCESS them through the Web.  They are cross-referenced collections of resources, including: journal articles, images, videos, podcasts, primary sources, newspaper articles, criticism, statistics, and topic overviews.
 

Click on the tab Research Databases at the top of this page to get a complete list of resources available to you.